Allu Arjun adjudged Best Actor, Alia Bhatt and Kriti Sanon jointly declared Best Actress at 69th National Film Awards

The highly anticipated winners of the 69th National Film Awards for the year 2021 were officially announced today by the esteemed Jury, comprised of eminent film makers and personalities from the Indian cine-world. The awards ceremony celebrated the remarkable achievements in both feature and non-feature films, showcasing the diversity and talent that Indian cinema has to offer.

In the realm of acting, Allu Arjun was recognized for his outstanding portrayal in Pushpa (The Rise Part I), securing the Best Actor Award.

The Best Actress Award was jointly won by two incredibly talented actresses – Alia Bhatt for her riveting performance in Gangubai Kathiawadi and Kriti Sanon for her role in Mimi.  

The prestigious award for Best Feature Film was claimed by Rocketry: The Nambi Effect, a compelling production that explores the life of ISRO scientist Nambi Narayanan. Directed by R. Madhavan, the film delves into the incredible journey of Nambi Narayanan and his contributions to India’s space research.

Ek Tha Gaon, directed by Srishti Lakhera, emerged victorious as it secured the accolade for the Best Non-Feature Film. This documentary captivates audiences with its poignant narrative, shedding light on the evocative stories from rural India.

The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration was claimed by The Kashmir Files.

RRR, a cinematic spectacle, clinched the Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment. The film, directed by S.S. Rajamouli, has won the hearts of audiences with its engaging storyline and visual extravaganza.

The Best Supporting Actor Award was claimed by Pankaj Tripathi, showcasing his versatility and ability to leave a lasting impact on audiences. Meanwhile, Pallavi Joshi emerged triumphant as she secured the Best Supporting Actress Award for her remarkable contribution to Indian cinema.

ALSO READ: Ex-ISRO Chief: Didn’t go home until I saw the rover move across the moon’s surface

The Chairperson of the Jury, Ketan Mehta for Feature Films, Vasanth S Sai for Non-feature Films, and Yatindra Mishra for Best Writing on Cinema, along with Neerja Sekhar, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, announced the winners during a press event held today.

Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Anurag Thakur lauded the dedication of the Jury in meticulously evaluating the entries and selecting the most deserving winners. He stated, “Today India is the largest film maker in the world. We have the potential to become the content hub of the world. This is our time. Today our films are being recognised all over the world, be it BAFTA or the Oscars.”